BUSINESS REVIEW
•E-COMMERCE-ing my way to millions•

BUSINESS REVIEW

E-COMMERCE-ing my way to Millions

Sunday, March 4, 2012

Hype About Magnum Ice Cream In The Philippines


I still don't get it.

A few weeks ago, Facebook and Twitter was flooded with discussions about Magnum Ice Cream finally arriving in the Philippines.

ABS-CBN News reports Magnum Ice Cream was officially launched last February 2012, thanks to a collaborative effort between Unilever and RFM.

Covered with a thick layer of belgian chocolate, the vanilla ice cream bar (on stick) is available in three flavors- classic, chocolate truffles, and almond.

Now I have to admit that I am no fan of ice cream so I couldn't give an expert opinion on what makes Magnum Ice Cream different from the rest, so I decided to send an sms to my wife and asked her if she already heard about it. After 5 minutes or so, she replied that she had actually already bought two variants to try, and quoted, "ang mahal! (it's expensive!)" Needless to say, this better be good, considering that the price is (at P60- contrary to what ABS-CBN report reported that price is at P50) like double the price of a regular ice cream on stick.

On my way home, I decided to drop by at 7-11 (ABS-CBN reports that Magnum is initially offered in 7-11 outlets and supermarkets) and bought all three variants.

We were a bit disappointed, as both of us were asking, "so what's different? have you actually forgotten your name after tasting it?"

In summary, I still don't get why there is so much hype on the arrival of Magnum Ice Cream in the Philippines (or maybe just because we have a lot of foreign an local celebrity endorsers saying that it is really good). I don't find anything spectacular, or anything speciall about it-except that fact that it is so costly at P60.

Or maybe just because i'm no expert in knowing.

Tuesday, January 24, 2012

Chef d' Angelo: Eat All You Can


We were on a cab going to MRT Magallanes (Mantrade) station when my wife and I agreed have lunch before riding the train. So instead of proceeding directly to the station, we asked the taxi driver to drop us off at the Alphaland Mall.

Our obvious choice would have been Teriyaki Boy (in front of Chowking), but because we have a companion who is a pizza lover, we decided to go for Chef d' Angelo.

There we found out that their Eat-All-You-Can promo is still on the run. If I'm not mistaken, this has promo has been running since early part of 2011. Cost was still P150 per head back then, but now the cost is at P175. The buffet table includes Pizza, Pasta, Salad, Soup, Rice, two sets of viands (last Saturday, the menu was Fried Fish Fillet and vegetables).

It was good for us that there were not a lot of people dining, so we didn't find it hard to line up and wait for our turn to get food in the buffet area.

Overall, the P175 is sulit (worth it). Food tastes great and there are lots of choices (3 diff pizzas, different sauce for the pasta, etc.).

Try Chef d' Angelo's Eat All You Can promo at the following stores- SM Manila, Robinson's Galleria, SM Fairview, Metro East, SM San Lazaro, Glorietta 5, Mall of Asia and Alphaland.

Ciao!

Monday, March 28, 2011

PLDT to Buy DIGITEL Shares



Telecommunications giant PLDT (Philippine Long Distance Telephone Company) has announced today that it will be acquiring 51% of Digital Telecommunications, Inc. shares at P69.2 Billion.


This is just one of the many recent other purchases made by the Metro Pacific Investments Corporation, founded and chaired by Manuel "Manny" Pangilinan (MVP).


Among the many companies owned by Metro Pacific are PLDT, Smart Communications, Maynilad Water Services, Meralco, Metro Pacific Tollways, Makati Medical Center, Cardinal Santos Medical Center, and ABC 5.


Thursday, February 3, 2011

KFC Double Down Sandwich Review


Have you ever tried the KFC Double Down Sandwich?

Truth is, many people have not yet tried this new offering from KFC because they are either always out of stock, or the cashier crew tells you that you have to wait for 10 to 15 minutes before the elusive sandwich gets delivered on your table.

In fact, I have heard an American customer who complained that he has been returning for two consecutive days and the Double Down Sandwich is always unavailable.

The Double Down Sandwich is an original KFC offering that does not use bread for the buns. Instead, the sandwich uses two chicken breast fillets for buns. The filling consists of thin slices of cheese, bacon, and mayonnaise.

I have ordered twice, and twice I was disappointed.

I don't know with you, but I rather think that the package is way too salty for the human tongue. First off, the chicken buns are already salty (original recipe taste). Then you have two thin slices of cheese. To add up, you also have the bacon which is equally salty. The mayonnaise just couldn't neutralize the taste.

Perhaps, after they review and subsequently relaunch the meal, they can put on some leafy greens inside.

(photo credits: Dailymail)

Thursday, January 6, 2011

Starbucks' New Logo



In a few months, Starbucks fanatics will get to see some changes when they get hold of their next cup of coffee.


Early this 2011, Starbucks has unveiled a new logo which now drops the words "STARBUCKS" & "COFFEE" that encircles the iconic Siren Lady.

Starbucks leaders say the changes to the logo are in some ways a metaphor for the company dropping the boundaries of its own business and growing into new areas, that is to say, that the company will be expanding into some other wider business lines beyond coffee, and going into more international markets.

Sunday, July 11, 2010

My Max's Chicken All-you-can Experience


Chicken Lovers should never miss Max's 65th Anniversary Promo- the Max's Chicken All-You-Can!

Eversince the ads came out in the market, my wife has been constantly reminding me that we should dine and try the promo.

Last July 4, we went out for dinner at the Max's Restaurant, SM Bicutan Branch, and tried on how many quarter chicken servings we can eat.

The promo offering for the Chicken-all-you-can is P165 per person, then you can also add P39 if you want to avail of any bottomless Pepsi Products.

Chicken are served on quarters, then you get a refill after finishing off with your serving. Of course, the usual "no leftovers", and "no sharing" applies.

Promo period runs from June 17 to July 17, at 6pm to 10 pm daily on all Max's branches nationwide.

For more info, you may visit the Max's website.

Thursday, February 25, 2010

Sino Si Pepito Manaloto?


If you are a frequent viewer of the GMA 7 Kapuso Station, you may have noticed that they are now running an advertisement whereby different people are asking the same question:

"Sino Si Pepito Manaloto?"

The ad is a teaser for the talented singer/rapper/comedian Michael V.'s upcoming sitcom this coming March 2010. If the rumors circulating the internet are true, this newest sitcom will replace Michael V.'s current talent reality show: Bitoy's Showwwtime every Saturday night.

Despite some impressive changes in the setup, and the addition of new talents (Cookie and Belly), Bitoy's Showwtime failed to improve its ratings against the currently number 1 Talentadong Pinoy hosted by Ryan Agoncillo on TV5.

Rumors also say that aside from Michael V., Carmina Villaroel and Eugene Domingo will spearhead the cast for this newest sitcom.

Well, let us all wait this coming November and let us all find the answer to the question:

Sino nga ba si Pepito Manaloto?
 

Friends

About Us

BUSINESS REVIEW Copyright © 2009 BeepTheGeek is Designed by Gaganpreet Singh